QUESTION OF GOD IN THE HORIZON OF SECULARIZATION

Meeting of the student groups in Castelgandolfo 2013

Question of God in the horizon of secularization

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

reports
 

student circle

The 2013 meeting meant a deep turning point for Pope Benedict's circle of students. This time, after many years, he did not have his teacher in his midst during the theological discussions. The pope emeritus probably wanted to send a signal that he is serious about his decision to lead a contemplative life after resigning from office. Nevertheless, it may have been difficult for him not to be able to stay with us in Castelgandolfo, especially since the problem we were dealing with is very important to him: the question of God in the horizon of secularization. But that also applies because we were able to win an extremely competent and respected cultural philosopher for the presentations and discussions, namely Prof. em. dr Remi Brague (Paris, Munich).

 

But if Pope Benedict could not be in Castelgandolfo, he was not completely absent for us. Rather, he celebrated the Eucharist with us in the Vatican on Sunday, September 1st, preaching the sermon. Then he personally welcomed the more than 50 participants and gave everyone the pleasure of a little conversation. His mental freshness and his sympathy for our joys and sorrows as well as for the big questions of the time are unbroken.

 

Prof. Brague dealt primarily with secularization. On the one hand, he specified the many terms for the phenomenon and thus sharpened the view of the diverse facets of this trend. On the other hand, he traced its consequences, so that in the end the challenges of this apparition for the church appeared.

 

The meeting of the student circle and the new student circle means a deep cut, but also because both circles were able to celebrate the "theological day" together for the first time. So we look to the future with confidence. The next meetings are to take place again in Castelgandolfo and in the Vatican.

Fr Dr Stephen Horn

Photos: Board of Trustees, Tagung  - Speaker Prof. Dr. Remi Brague, group photos SK + NSK, SK, fair, encounter with Pope em. Benedict XVI

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The New Student Circle 2013 in Castel Gandolfo

This year's student group meeting from August 30th to September 3rd, 2013 in Castelgandolfo undoubtedly marked a turning point: on the one hand it was the first meeting of the "old" and the "new" student group since Pope Benedict XVI's resignation. on February 28, 2013; and on the other hand it was the first student group meeting without Joseph Ratzinger/Pope Benedict XVI. himself. His wish, for the first time in 34 years, not to take part in the consultations, which have been taking place in Castel Gandolfo since 2005, fully corresponded to the intention he declared when he resigned from office, to be able to linger in prayer for the church and the world and to remain hidden from the world.

The subject that Pope Benedict XVI. with his former students, doctoral candidates and habilitation candidates last year for this year's conference, was the "God question in the horizon of secularization". The French philosopher and historian Professor Rémi Brague, who has been Professor of Medieval Philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris since 1991 and has also held the "Guardini Chair" for Philosophy of European Religions at the LMU Munich since 2002, was won as a top-class speaker will. The long with Joseph Ratzinger / Pope Benedict XVI. friend Brague was only awarded the "Premio Ratzinger" for theology in 2012.

In addition to the great anticipation of Professor Brague's treatment of this year's topic, the new student group was also very pleased that Cardinal Kurt Koch, President of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, took part in the conference again, whom Pope Benedict still in September of last year had put the young theologian at his side as a mentor. The promised participation of the Archbishop of Vienna, Christoph Cardinal Schönborn, was also warmly welcomed.

As usual, Friday evening was used for an initial exchange and organizational matters. The planned next annual meeting in 2014 as well as possible publications and activities have already been thought about and discussed. Saturday was again all about scientific exchange. And here there was a premiere: For the first time, the student group and the new student group met together and were able to follow Rémi Brague's explanations on the subject of "secularization". In the first of two presentations, Professor Brague formulated "10 Steps to Secularization" with great clarity and a noticeable desire for witty provocation, using concepts and terms such as "disenchantment of the world", "separation of the secular and the religious", "modern times", "emancipation", "enlightenment", "modernization", "secularization", "secularity", "secularism" and "secularization" sharply distinguished from each other. In the second lecture he formulated the provocative thesis that secular thinking must lead to the destruction of culture and self. As you can imagine, there was a lively debate on this.

Finally, on Sunday, another novelty in the history of the student group meetings happened: both student groups left Castel Gandolfo and drove together to Rome – to the Vatican, to be precise. Because Benedict XVI. invited to celebrate the Sunday Holy Mass together. Cardinal Schönborn, Cardinal Koch, Bishop Adoukonou, Hamburg’s auxiliary bishop Hans-Jochen Jaschke and Benedict’s longtime private secretary, curial archbishop Georg Gänswein, concelebrated at the Eucharistic celebration in the chapel of the Vatican governorate. Following the Holy Mass, in which the Pope Emeritus held a profound sermon on Jesus' admonitions for humility and modesty in Luke's Gospel, Benedict XVI welcomed every single participant of the student group meeting personally and in a relaxed atmosphere. After saying goodbye to Pope em. Benedict and the return from Rome, the new student group met in large groups together with the student group and Professor Brague in Castel Gandolfo for a constructive and at times very personal discussion about their own experiences with secularisation.

As always, the good conversations and friendly relations between the two groups of students were rounded off by shared meals in the Centro Mariapoli throughout the weekend. The New Student Circle has vivid and grateful memories of this meeting and is already looking forward - God willing - to seeing you again in 2014.

 

Stephen Ahrens

 

 

 

Photos: Michael Hofmann

 

CG_2013_Vortrag Dr. Remi Brague_03.JPG

GOTTESFRAGE IM HORIZONT DER SÄKULARISIERUNG

Tagung der Schülerkreise in Castelgandolfo 2013

Gottesfrage im Horizont der Säkularisierung

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Berichte
 

Schülerkreis

Das Treffen von 2013 bedeutet für den Schülerkreis von Papst Benedikt einen tiefen Einschnitt. Nach vielen Jahren hatte er diesmal seinen Lehrer bei den theologischen Gesprächen nicht in seiner Mitte. Der emeritierte Papst wollte wohl ein Zeichen setzen, dass es ihm ernst ist mit seiner Entscheidung, nach dem Amtsverzicht ein kontemplatives Leben zu führen. Trotzdem mag es ihm schwergefallen sein, nicht bei uns in Castelgandolfo weilen zu können, zumal die Problematik, die wir behandelten, ihm sehr wichtig ist: die Gottesfrage im Horizont der Säkularisierung. Das gilt aber auch deshalb, weil wir einen äußerst kompetenten und angesehenen Kulturphilosophen für die Referate und Diskussionen gewinnen konnten, nämlich Prof. em. Dr. Rémi Brague (Paris, München).

 

Doch wenn Papst Benedikt auch nicht in Castelgandolfo sein konnte, so war er für uns doch nicht ganz abwesend. Vielmehr feierte er im Vatikan am Sonntag den 1. September mit uns Eucharistie und hielt dabei die Predigt. Dann begrüßte er die mehr als 50 Teilnehmer persönlich und schenkte allen die Freude eines kleinen Gesprächs. Seine geistige Frische und seine Anteilnahme an unseren Freuden und Sorgen wie an den großen Fragen der Zeit sind ungebrochen.

 

Prof. Brague setzte sich vor allem mit der Säkularisierung auseinander. Auf der einen Seite präzisierte er die vielen Begriffe für das Phänomen und schärfte so den Blick für die vielfältigen Facetten dieser Strömung. Auf der anderen Seite spürte er ihren Folgen nach, sodass am Ende die Herausforderungen dieser Erscheinung für die Kirche aufschienen.

 

Das Treffen des Schülerkreises und des Neuen Schülerkreises bedeutet einen tiefen Einschnitt aber auch dadurch, dass beide Kreise erstmals den „theologischen Tag“ gemeinsam begehen konnten. So sehen wir zuversichtlich in die Zukunft. Die nächsten Treffen sollen wieder in Castelgandolfo und im Vatikan stattfinden.

P. Dr. Stephan Horn

Fotos: Stiftungsrat, Tagung  - Referent Prof. Dr. Remi Brague, Gruppenfotos SK + NSK, SK, Messe, Begegnung mit Papst em. Benedikt XVI.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Der Neue Schülerkreis 2013 in Castel Gandolfo

Das diesjährige Schülerkreistreffen vom 30. August bis zum 03. September 2013 in Castelgandolfo bedeutete zweifellos eine tiefe Zäsur: zum einen war es das erste Zusammentreffen des "alten" sowie des "neuen" Schülerkreises seit dem Amtsverzicht von Papst Benedikt XVI. am 28. Februar 2013; und zum anderen war es das erste Schülerkreistreffen ohne Joseph Ratzinger/Papst Benedikt XVI. selbst. Sein Wunsch, erstmals seit 34 Jahren nicht an den Beratungen, die seit 2005 in Castel Gandolfo stattfinden, teilzunehmen, entsprach ganz seiner bei seinem Amtsverzicht erklärten Intention, im Gebet für Kirche und Welt verweilen können und vor der Welt verborgen zu bleiben.

Das Thema, welches Papst Benedikt XVI. mit seinen früheren Studenten, Doktoranden und Habilitanden noch im vergangenen Jahr für die diesjährige Tagung gewählt hatte, war die "Gottesfrage im Horizont der Säkularisierung". Als hochkarätigen Referenten konnte hierfür der französische Philosoph und Historiker Professor Rémi Brague, der seit 1991 Professor für Philosophie des Mittelalters an der Sorbonne in Paris und zugleich seit 2002 Inhaber des "Guardini-Lehrstuhls" für Philosophie der Religionen Europas an der LMU München ist, gewonnen werden. Der seit langem mit Joseph Ratzinger/Papst Benedikt XVI. befreundete Brague wurde erst 2012 mit dem "Premio Ratzinger" für Theologie ausgezeichnet.

Neben der großen Vorfreude auf die Behandlung des diesjährigen Themas durch Professor Brague freute es den Neuen Schülerkreis ebenfalls sehr, dass an der Tagung erneut auch Kardinal Kurt Koch, Präsident des Päpstlichen Rates für die Förderung der Einheit der Christen, teilnahm, welchen Papst Benedikt noch im September vergangenen Jahres den jungen Theologen als Mentor an die Seite gestellt hatte. Die zugesagte Teilnahme des Wiener Erzbischofs Christoph Kardinal Schönborn wurde ebenfalls sehr begrüßt.

Der Freitagabend wurde – wie üblich – für einen ersten Austausch und Organisatorisches genutzt. So wurde bereits über das angedachte nächste Jahrestreffen 2014 sowie mögliche Publikationen und Aktivitäten nachgedacht und gesprochen. Der Samstag stand wiederum ganz im Zeichen des wissenschaftlichen Austausches. Und hier gab es eine Premiere: Erstmals tagten Schülerkreis und Neuer Schülerkreis gemeinsam und durften den Ausführungen von Rémi Brague zum Thema "Säkularisierung" folgen. Mit großer Klarheit und auch spürbarer Lust zur geistreichen Provokation formulierte Professor Brague im ersten von zwei Referaten "10 Schritte zur Säkularisierung", wobei er Begriffe und Termini wie "Entzauberung der Welt", "Trennung des Weltlichen und des Religiösen", "Neuzeit", "Emanzipation", "Aufklärung", "Modernisierung", "Säkularisation", "Säkularität", "Säkularismus" sowie "Säkularisierung" scharfsinnig voneinander unterschied. Im zweiten Referat formulierte er die provokante These, dass säkulares Denken zur Kultur- und Selbstzerstörung führen müsse. Wie man sich denken kann, wurde hierüber lebhaft debattiert.

Am Sonntag schließlich geschah ein weiteres Novum in der Geschichte der Schülerkreistreffen: Beide Schülerkreise verließen Castel Gandolfo und fuhren zusammen nach Rom – genauer gesagt in den Vatikan. Denn Benedikt XVI. lud zur gemeinsamen Feiern der sonntäglichen Heiligen Messe ein. Bei der Eucharistiefeier in der Kapelle des vatikanischen Governatorats konzelebrierten unter anderem Kardinal Schönborn, Kardinal Koch, Bischof Adoukonou, der Hamburger Weihbischof Hans-Jochen Jaschke und Benedikts langjähriger Privatsekretär, Kurienerzbischof Georg Gänswein. Im Anschluss an die Heilige Messe, in welcher der emeritierte Papst eine tiefsinnige Predigt über die Mahnungen Jesu zu Demut und Bescheidenheit im Lukasevangelium hielt, begrüßte Benedikt XVI. jeden einzelnen Teilnehmer des Schülerkreistreffens persönlich und in entspannter Atmosphäre. Nach dem Abschied von Papst em. Benedikt und der Rückkehr aus Rom setzte der Neue Schülerkreis sich in großer Runde gemeinsam mit dem Schülerkreis und Professor Brague in Castel Gandolfo zu einem konstruktiven und bisweilen sehr persönlichen Gespräch über eigene Erfahrungen mit der Säkularisierung zusammen.

Wie immer wurden die guten Gespräche und freundschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen beiden Schülerkreisen durch die gemeinsamen Mahlzeiten im Centro Mariapoli während des gesamten Wochenendes abgerundet. Der Neue Schülerkreis hat dieses Treffen in lebendiger und dankbarer Erinnerung und freut sich bereits – so Gott will - auf ein Wiedersehen in 2014.

 

Stefan Ahrens

 

 

 

Fotos: Michael Hofmann

 

Verein Neuer Schülerkreis . bzw. Namensnennung

FOTOS 
ÜBER UNS

Der Verein Neuer Schülerkreis Joseph Ratzinger/Papst Benedikt XVI. ist mit dem Sitz in München in das Vereinsregister eingetragen.  Er ist selbstlos tätig und verfolgt keine eigenwirtschatlichen Ziele. Mittel des Vereines dürfen nur für satzungsgemäße Zwecke verwendet werden. Die Mitglieder erhalten keine Zuwendungen aus den Mitteln des Vereines.

FÜR DEN INHALT VERANWORTLICH

Verein Neuer Schülerkreis

Joseph Ratzinger/Papst Benedikt XVI.

 

ADRESSE

Paosostraße 8

81243 München

Bayern/Deutschland

E-MAIL-KONTAKT